This House Believes Sign

this house believes

I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving. We had a nice relaxing day spent with family. Earlier in the day we went to see a movie with the family and saw The Good Dinosaur. I really enjoyed it I laughed and cried and the kids loved it. We ate until our bellies were full and then Jenn and I headed out and did some black Friday shopping and knocked out some gifts!

With Thanksgiving over its time to get out and put up all of those fun Christmas decorations and not feel guilty doing it since Thanksgiving is over.   I’m hoping I can get all of mine up this weekend!  Last month Jenn and I went shopping  and we went into a cute little store trying to find some couches for her and came across a darling “This House Believes” Christmas sign. There wasn’t a price on it so the salesclerk found out for us and later told us it was $28.00. We knew that we could create it for a lot less than so  I decided to make it and I love it! 

Supplies:

wood (cut to 17 long x 9 inches wide)

green and red and cream acrylic paint

red fine glitter

mod podge

paint brush

christmas scrapbook paper

small snowflakes and red jewels

glitter paper

scissors

burlap

glue gun

Step 1: I purchased my wood at Home Depot but you can also use a scrap of wood you already have.  Next paint your wood with the green paint. After the paint has dried I used the bottom of a foam paint brush and painted polka dots on the wood and sprinkled the red glitter on top while the paint was wet and just shook of the excess glitter.

dots.jpg

Step 2: Cut your burlap so you have an even space on each side of the wood. Next you will take a brush and put a thin coat of modge podge over the burlap. After the mod podge is dry paint the burlap with the cream paintburlapStep 3. I traced the letters on gold and red glitter paper with stencils and cut them out. You could also use a cutting machine if you have one. Next I cut triangles in 3 different sizes and cut little trunks for the trees in the gold glitter paper. I put mod podge on the snowflakes and sprinkled white glitter on them to make them sparkle and added red jewels in the center. I already had these on had but you can get these snowflakes and jewels at any local craft store.

paper trees

Step 4: Arrange your burlap and letters and trees onto the wood so it’s spaced out evenly and glue everything down to secure it. I used a hot glue gun for this.

I had so much fun making this and I think it turned out really cute! I had all of the supplies on hand except for the wood which was around $8.00 and I would be able to make at least 3 more boards so it came out to be well under the $28.00 they were charging for one! I also think these would make wonderful Christmas gifts. I love how it looks next to my little Santa’s and how sparkly it is at night with my lights!

santa

Happy crafting and Happy Holidays!

Angsig (1)

Angsig (1).jpg

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

